Columbus South Side Area Commission

Map of Area Commission Boundaries

Key Details

Meeting Place

WE ARE BACK TO MEETING IN PERSON. PLEASE JOIN US @ Barack Recreation Center 580 E. Woodrow Ave. 43206

Meeting Time
6:30pm to 8pm
Fourth Tuesday of each month

Zoning Committee
2nd Saturday, 10:00 am

Nov 13th 10am: Regular Monthly Zoning Committee Meeting

Neighborhood Liaison
Beth Fairman-Kinney

Neighborhood Pride Center
South Side Neighborhood Pride Center
280 Reeb Avenue Columbus, OH 43207

Follow us on social media!

Document Library

Our Mission

The purpose of this Commission is to afford additional voluntary citizen participation in decision making in an advisory capacity to the City Administration and City Council as provided by C.C. Section 3109.01 and to facilitate communication, understanding and cooperation among citizens, neighborhood groups, city officials, city staff and other stakeholders by performing those functions and duties set forth in C.C. Section 3109.14. The Commission shall not endorse any candidate for Public office.



Executive Committee

The Executive Committee serves to prepare the agenda for the Commission’s monthly meeting. The Committee may also schedule any special meetings and agendas as needed. The Committee meets monthly on the Saturday prior to the CSSAC regularly meeting.

The 2020-21 Chairperson of the SouthSide Area Commission: Jim Griffin

Public Relations

The Public Relations Committee conducts all public relations activities, including but not limited to establishing media contacts, advertising the existence of the Commission, coordinating news and press releases, newsletters, and correspondence. The Committee aids in the development of the community identity and shall promote the active cooperation and participation of all segments of the Commission Area, including residents, organizations, associations, businesses and institutions.

The 2020-21 Chairperson of the Election Committee is: Adam Cohn


The Election Committee shall conduct elections pursuant to the commission’s election rules and shall meet as often as necessary to fulfill its duties as specified in the rules.

The 2020-21 Chairperson of the Election Committee is: Paula Copeland

**Elections Information Packet can be found above.

Zoning, Building and Housing

The Zoning, Building and Housing Committee reviews copies of applications for rezoning, special permits, variances, demolitions, Zoning appeals. The Zoning Committee meets the second Saturday of each month at 10:00 AM at the site(s) of the pending zoning application, or at the direction of the Zoning Chair. For more detailed information on the Zoning, Building and Housing Committee please see CSSAC by-laws pages 10B and pages 23 and 24, Addendum B, CSSAC Zoning Policy.

The 2020-21 Chairperson of the Zoning, Building and Housing Committee is: Curtis Davis

*Nov 13th 10am: Regular Monthly Zoning Committee Meeting

Public Services and Planning

The Public Services and Planning Committee serves to review the adequacy and operation of all public services, including but not limited to utilities, safety, infrastructure, health, parks and emergency response, provided by the City and other public agencies to the Commission Area, and recommends priorities and improvements. The Committee meets monthly on the second Thursday.

The 2020-21 Chairperson of the Public Services Committee is: Erin Synk


The Education Committee reviews existing pertinent area plans and make recommendations for comprehensive education development of the Commission area. The Committee shall examine local legislation, school plans and issues affecting the Commission area and develop means for citizen participation in education decisions, which affect the Commission area. The Committee will also regularly receive, review, and make recommendations at the Commission meetings on all education issues pertaining to the Commission area. Please see page 13E of the CSSAC By-laws located on this website for more detailed information.

The 2020-21 Chairperson of the Education Committee is: Mike Alcock

Safety, Heath, Welfare and Equity

The Safety, Health, Welfare, and Equity (SHWE) Committee serves to promote all these topics on the South Side.  The Committee provides training recommendations, serving as a forum for advancing equity and social justice concerns, advocating for responsible community policing and safety for all south siders, and connecting these topics to the other committees.  The Committee also maintains a connection with the Reimagining Public Safety effort by the City of Columbus.  Meetings are held monthly on the fourth Thursday.

Recent Posts about Southside